Who Are We?

CSTA Indiana was established as your local computer science community. This chapter was built to connect you with other computer science teachers, provide professional development to improve your craft, and connect your local voice to the national computer science education community.

      Our Leadership  


Rebekah Randall - Rebekah Randall currently teaches Computer Science and mathematics at Canterbury High School in Ft. Wayne. She also has enjoyed teaching physics, research, and coaching robotics, rocketry, and science Olympiad teams.  
She has previously served CSTA as the treasurer and looks forward to helping keep our chapter strong. 
Past President
Julie Alano - Hamilton Southeastern High School
Mrs. Julie Alano began teaching at Hamilton Southeastern (HSE) High School in Fishers, Indiana in 1998. She has seen many changes in the school and community, including in her classrooms and courses. She has taught Algebra II and other math courses but now focuses on computer science. She teaches AP Computer Science A, AP Computer Science Principles, and Software Development and has also taught Intro to Computer Science, Computer Science I, and Cybersecurity. Mrs. Alano started the CybeRoyals student-led tech squad at the school and sponsors a computer club as well as the first CS Honor Society in Indiana. As founder and past president of CSTA Indiana, she works to promote and support K-12 computer science education across the state. In 2015-2016, she worked as a writer for the national Framework for K-12 Computer Science Education. She has also served on standards writing committees at the state level in Indiana. Julie became a code.org Computer Science Principles Facilitator in the fall of 2016, the first year the course was offered as AP and is also now an Computer Science A Facilitator. Mrs. Alano was named Teacher of the Year for HSE High School and HSE Schools (a district of over 21,000 students) in May 2016. In April of 2017, she was named State Tech Educator of the Year by the TechPoint Foundation in Indiana. Julie is also the head girls’ track coach at HSE High School and was named USA Today Girls Track Coach of the Year in 2018.  She is the conference director for the Indiana Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches, after serving 11 years as secretary, and 2 years as vice president, and 2 years as president. In her spare time, she helps at her family’s orchard near Shelbyville, Indiana and can be found selling fresh produce at a local farmers’ market on Saturdays.
President Elect
This could be YOU!
Rebekah Randall - 
Holly Swartz - LaVille Elementary School 
                       Union United  North School Corporation
Group Admin
This could be you!
Equity Fellow 
Leontae Gray-Ward - 
Northwest Hub Leadership
President - This could be you!
Northeast Hub Leadership
PresidentAmanda FoxPrairie Vista Elementary,
                                      PHM School Corporation
Central Hub Leadership
PresidentRyan Bean
Southwest Hub Leadership
PresidentChris Combs, Evansville-Vanderburgh 
Southeast Hub Leadership
President - This could be you!
Contact CSTA Indiana
Enter your email address and the message you want to send.
fields are required